Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Mailcaster Archive Communications Faculty Announcements Presidential Awards for Excellence – Nominations due March 22
Tuesday March 9, 2021 14:36:54
"Jennifer J. Raab" <>
Current Faculty
Presidential Awards for Excellence – Nominations due March 22

Dear colleagues,

Hunter College has an extraordinary faculty who excel in scholarship, teaching, and service to the college and community. This year has been unlike any other, and our faculty have risen to the challenge. To recognize and celebrate our accomplished colleagues, we are very pleased to open nominations for our Presidential Awards for Excellence. Awards for faculty are in the following categories: Scholarship or Creative Activity; Applied Scholarship; Teaching (full- and part-time); and Service (to the college and to the wider community). This year we are adding an additional category for Excellence in Online Teaching to recognize the unique challenges of remote instruction. Please note that we include Distinguished Lecturers and Lecturers for all awards and Librarians and Laboratory Technicians for the Service Award.

The 2021 Presidential Awards for Excellence Categories:

  1. The Award for Excellence in Scholarship or Creative Activity for Full-Time Faculty
  2. The Award for Excellence in Applied Scholarship for Full-Time Faculty
  3. The Award for Excellence in Teaching for Full-Time Faculty
  4. The Cecile Insdorf Award for Excellence in Teaching for Part-Time Faculty
    **Candidates who have served a minimum of four semesters (not necessarily consecutively) are eligible for the part-time teaching award.
  5. The Award for Excellence in Service (to the college or the community) for Full-Time Faculty, including Librarians and College Laboratory Technicians
  6. NEW: The Award for Excellence in Online Teaching

We welcome nominations from chairpersons or other colleagues, as well as self-nominations. Please submit a brief statement addressing the candidate’s qualifications, a current curriculum vitae for the candidate, and a brief nomination letter from the department chair to Associate Provost Jenny Tuten at by March 22, 2021.

Winners will be recognized at a Zoom ceremony on April 14th at 5:30pm and will receive a monetary award. Please save the date and join us on Zoom to celebrate their accomplishments.


Jennifer J. Raab



Hunter College. All rights reserved © 2022